ken-levine-irrational-games[display_podcast] Okay. It took a bit longer than I expected to get this one up. But here it is, my interview with Ken Levine! We talk about old games, new games, and games that don’t even exist yet! If you care at all about where interactive design is, and how we got here, and where we’re going, I think you’ll find this one worth is listening to.     Subscribe with iTunes!   Sign up for the Active Design newsletter at: www.getactivedesign.com Subscribe on iTunes at: Email me at: andrew@andrewpmayer.com The podcast is published under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License. http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/3.0/ INTRO 3:30 In particular I’d say this attitude is prevalent on Gamasutra and Kotaku. 4:35 I’d like to make a game called “Race to the Bottom”. So many possibilities… 5:10 Except for *your*, obviously. 5:40 Ethan Levy was into this stuff very early. http://famousaspect.com/ 7:50 Rage of Bahamut: http://bit.ly/16odO7m Puzzles & Dragons: http://bit.ly/1dftDRy Outlawed Japanese dynamic: http://bit.ly/1a9e1Q5 8:30 Online for-money gambling is legal? http://money.cnn.com/2013/06/10/technology/innovation/online-gambling-poker/index.html 10:00 Rob Fulop http://www.robfulop.com/newsite/index.htm 12:00 Dying during Starcraft: http://www.bit-tech.net/news/gaming/2005/08/10/Korean_Gamer_Dies/1 14:50 The Youtube Channel is live! Watch me unbox Boss Monster, and then subscribe: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MinXl5R7bQE The Google+ Account is live! INTERVIEW: KEN LEVINE 15:50 We were playing a Halloween module called “the Mansion of Mad Professor Ludlow.” 16:20 The Atari 800. Still the best! http://oldcomputers.net/atari800.html 20:15 Indy 500 on the Atari http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Indy_500_(1977_video_game) 23:50 Ultimata Underworld from Looking Glass http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ultima_Underworld:_The_Stygian_Abyss 26:00 I categorically refuse to provide links to Dungeons & Dragons 26:00 Wayout: http://www.atarimania.com/game-atari-400-800-xl-xe-wayout_5738.html 27:00 Synapse Games http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Synapse_Software Picnic Paranoia http://www.atarimania.com/game-atari-400-800-xl-xe-picnic-paranoia_3947.html Necromancer http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Necromancer_(video_game) 28:30 Atari 800 Character Graphics 29:00 Doug Church http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Doug_Church 29:30 Thief http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thief_(series) 32:00 Captain Janeway: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kathryn_Janeway Maybe not my least favorite captain, but close… 39:47 Red Harvest Yojimbo was the Japanese remake of Red Harvest http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yojimbo_(film) 40:30 The Lost: http://irrationalgames.com/insider/from-the-vault-the-lost/ A most prophetic title… 42:35 Freedom Force: http://irrationalgames.com/studio/projects/freedom-force/ 42:53 Guardians of Justice had a lot of press at the time, but seems to have been wiped from the memory banks now… 43:23 Robb Waters: http://irrationalgames.com/tag/robb-waters/ Gene Colan: http://genecolan.blogspot.com/ Jack Kirby: http://kirbymuseum.org/ 45:05 Origin of Marvel Comics: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/862485.Origins_of_Marvel_Comics 47:00 Super-Villain Team Up: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Super-Villain_Team-Up 47:51 Jon Chey now runs Blue Manchu games: http://gamasutra.com/view/news/35931/Jon_Chey_Founds_Blue_Manchu_Games_Announces_Card_Hunter.php 50:41 SWAT 4: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SWAT_4 52:01 Tribes Vengeance: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tribes:_Vengeance 53:30 I, Claudius: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0074006/ 56:30 Bioshock http://irrationalgames.com/studio/projects/bioshock/ 56:42 Deus Ex http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Deus_Ex System Shock 2 http://www.ign.com/articles/2013/02/15/the-return-of-system-shock-2 1:03:00 Arkham Asylum: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Batman:_Arkham_Asylum 1:06:20 Ken Levin on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ken.levine.9 1:08 The term we were hunting for late at night was Ludology http://oxforddictionaries.com/us/definition/american_english/ludology 1:12 The Sims… http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Sims

Share This